Call for Chapters: An Accidental History of Canada

Call For Chapters: An Accidental History of Canada   “The unforeseen has had devastating effects on ordinary people and whole societies….” John C. Burnham Injuries, misfortunes and calamities are part of the human condition, yet the history of the accident within the context of the study of health and medicine is still in its infancy, […] Read more

Congrès de Western est annulé - Congress at Western cancelled

Chères et chers collègues, Nous avons appris aujourd’hui que le Congrès de Western est annulé et qu’il ne sera pas reprogrammé. Vous devez donc annuler tous les plans de voyage que vous avez fait pour participer à notre Colloque annuel.  Le Congrès va vous informer dans les meilleurs délais des procédures d’annulation et de remboursement à suivre. Le […] Read more

Dr. Shelley McKellar Appointed to the AMS Healthcare Board of Directors / nommée au Conseil d'administration de l'AMS Healthcare

Dr. Nick Busing, Chair of the Board, Associated Medical Services Inc., is pleased to announce the appointment of Shelley McKellar as a Member of the Board of Directors. Dr Shelley McKellar is the Hannah Chair in the History of Medicine in the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry and Associate Professor of History in the […] Read more

La fin de l’asile ? Histoire de la déshospitalisation psychiatrique dans l’espace francophone au XXe siècle

Au cours des années 1960, les pays occidentaux s’engagèrent dans un processus politique, médical et administratif visant à sortir les malades des hôpitaux psychiatriques. Mais est-ce pour autant la fin de l’asile ? En retraçant l’histoire des modalités de sortie de l’asile dans le monde francophone du XXe siècle, cet ouvrage constate la nature mythique […] Read more

2018 H. N. Segall Award Winner

Congratulations to Lucy Vorobej (University of Waterloo) for winning the 2018 H. N. Segall Prize. The Segall Prize is awarded for the best student paper presented at the annual conference of the Canadian Society for the History of Medicine. Félicitations à Lucy Vorobej, qui a gagné le priz H. N. Segall. Read more

Call for Nominations / Appel de candidatures

The Nominating committee is calling for a nomination for the following position on the board of the CSHM/SCHM: Secretary-treasurer Nominees for this position should please submit a letter briefly outlining their interest by e-mail. Brief e-mail letters of support from three members in good standing of the CSHM/SCHM with permanent residence in Canada should accompany […] Read more

Award Winners: 2017 Hannah Summer Studentship – Bourses d’été du Hannah

Award Winners 2017 Congratulations to the 2017 Hannah Summer Studentship Award Winners: Rebecca Redden (Mount St. Vincent University) Emma Chilton (McMaster University) Ariel Gershon (Western University) Geraldine Huynh (University of Alberta) Read more

Award Winners: 2016 Hannah Summer Studentship – Bourses d’été du Hannah

Award Winners 2016 Congratulations to the 2016 Hannah Summer Studentship Award Winners: Melissa Micu (Guelph University) Claire Gjersten (University of Calgary) Haley Pineau (University of Alberta) Alison Hogan (University of Victoria) Read more

Announcement: The formation of the Canadian Association for Health Humanities

The newly-formed Canadian Association for Health Humanities is being introduced to serve and support the ever-growing health humanities community in Canada. We invite health professions educators, students, practitioners, creative writers and artists, along with scholars across multiple disciplines – whose varying perspectives and creative work encourage a broader, more critical view of health and illness […] Read more

Dr. Jenna Healey appointed as the Jason A. Hannah Chair in the History of Medicine

Dean Richard Reznick is pleased to announce that Benoit-Antoine Bacon, Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) at Queen’s University, has appointed Dr. Jenna Healey as the Jason A. Hannah Chair in the History of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, for a five-year period beginning August 1, 2017. Dr. Healey received her PhD from the Program in the […] Read more